1. Teratology Survey
2.  Valley Of The Worm
3.  Black.Sun.Rise
4.  Consumer
5.  Mask Behind The Face
6.  Playing Enemy
7.  Beyond The Threshold

CD | INIT-15

The CD version of the Insolito Records 10". This has a different mix of the four 10" songs plus extra material exclusive to the CD including two bonus ambient/noise tracks and a Husker Du cover. The CD version also has an alternate layout/design by Ryan Patterson (Black Cross, Initial Records).

Maybe like a year and a half ago, I asked Mike from Anodyne if they would like to do a 7" on Init. I had set up a show for them in Mankato, MN and met them that way, and loved their band when I saw them play. Mike said they were always interested in 7" projects, and to keep in touch. Then, when the band was doing a week or so of dates with Caligari on the west coast, I suggested to both bands about doing an Anodyne/Caligari split 7". Both bands were into it, but then Caligari unexpectedly called it quits. I still anted to put out an Anodyne release and Mike suggested doing the CD version of a 10" they were doing on the German label, Insolito. Almost a year later, things finally materialized and this was sent to the plant... the result is a massive wall of sound and aggression in the best way possible, of course.

Pressing Info:
1000 copies



HeartattaCk #42:
"Anodyne brings us 7 new songs with their brand of metallic fury. They seriously have to be one of the most intense 3 pieces I have heard. The CD starts off with a weird ambient noise type track that sounds like you're in traffis. Then it goes into my favorite song on the CD, "Black.Sun.Rise." They close with a cover of "Beyond The Threshold" by Husker Du. What's weird is that I saw this 10" at Ebullition the other day and it had a different track listing than the CD. I recommend that you get both."- Tyler Humer

Punk Planet #63:
"These six songs were originally released as a 10" on Insolito Records over in Germany. I would have rather received the vinyl release, but what can you do? I guess I did get some bonus material on the CD, so I won't complain too much. These guys are out of New York, and it is so refreshing to hear some really creative hardcore coming out of that city. Anodyne sounds like they are heavily influenced by Neurosis, but they follow through with plenty of originality. These songs are brutal as they are well-written. Salo is definitely worth checking out. (reviewer highlight)"- Tim Kuehl

Law Of Inertia #20:
"All's well here, particularly for those missing all the chaotic and discordant grooves of bands like Kiss It Goodbye, or those churned out by the Hydra Head camp. At times the music is a bit too arcane for my taste, but it is far from something I would recommend avoiding - although the noise tracks I could have done without. Salo EP is strongly comparable to Anodyne's past work on Escape Artist and should not disappoint seasoned fans or anyone partial to the crush of heavy grooves and devastating vocals. A valiant effort on the part of Anodyne that is well worth your time, or at least an investigation."- Evan Fields

Metal Maniacs #Vol.22 #5:
"I've never been the sharpest knife in the drawer, but it took me a lot longer than it should have to figure out why this EP sounded so regressive when compared to this NYC band's acerbic 2004 masterpiece, Lifetime Of Gray Skies. Simply put, parts of Salo were actually recorded in 2002 and 2003. Sometimes the answer is right under you rnose if you're willing to look. So, it'd be a misnomer to say that Salo continues Lifetime Of Gray Skies' corrosive and disturbing petulance, but when you listen to the discs back-to-back, it charts a definite and sonically abusive pattern. Guitarist/vocalist Mike Hill is arguably one of the most pissed off people on God's Green Earth. Innocent Brooklynites are on the receiving end of his everyday, neighborhood death glares; we extreme music fans get to hear the musical expression of his disgust and ire via one of the most discodant and abrasive guitar sounds ever to set fire to a stack of Deadguy and Swans records using propane and three sticks of dynamite. "Mask Behind The Face" and "Valley Of The Worm" are searing car wrecks of iron-fisted caterwauling, stuttering rhythms and scraping sheets of rusty aluminum. "Black.Sun.Rise" is eerie in its trebly, six-string doom and shotgun drumming, while "Teratology Survey" and "Playing Enemy" present the ambient, industrial wasteland of life after this trio has finished destroying everything in sight. I'm hesitent to recommend Salo to anyone who isn't already a fan or doesn't already own Lifetime. If you don't know what you're getting into, Anodyne can be a real shock to the system."- Kevin Stewart-Panko

Decibel Magazine #8:
"An ass-kickin' in seven easy steps. The biggest surprise about listening to this particular Anodyne EP is the discovery of just how catchy their music can be after a few listens. This is a revelation because you don't normally associate the sort of discordant twists and turns of Mike Hill's Swans meets Unsane meets the Locust while being stabbed in the groin by Keelhaul riffing style to be the sort that you can satisfyingly hum along to while strolling through the park. Then again, one hardly expects a band so obviously steeped in gritty and acerbic noise-rock to cover Husker Du's "Beyond The Threshold," but they do - although I think Grant Hart's moustache would probably do a couple back flips if he heard what Anodyne's done to it. Anyway, what transforms Mike Hill's fingers-down-a-chalkboard riffing into sway-inducing songs is the rhythm section, especially the way Joel Stallings' tasteful pitter-pattering carries transitions, drives the rhythms and jazzes up the abrasion. This gent is more than a time-keeper with a bitter attitude because no one takes pictures of him; he's a vital cog in the centrifugal force that is the artistry of Anodyne. I dare you to listen to "Consumer" and "Black.Sun.Rise." and think otherwise." (8)
- Kevin Stewart-Panko